Scheduled to be implemented in 2025, the ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorisation System) will apply to non-EU citizens entering the Schengen Zone of Europe.


ETIAS is a completely electronic system that will monitor visitors who do not already require a visa to enter the Schengen Zone. ETIAS’s main function is to protect against potential security threats.

The application process will include filling out a short online form and paying a fee of €7. If you are travelling to more than one Schengen Zone country, you will identify the country you travel to first. You will then be free to travel anywhere else within the Schengen Zone for a maximum of 90 days.

Countries included in the Schengen Zone (will require ETIAS):

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czechia
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • The Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

European countries not included in the Schengen Zone (will NOT require ETIAS):

  • Bulgaria
  • Romania
  • Ireland